PDA

View Full Version : Art sucks.

FOAtHeart
Feb 14, 2007, 05:05 PM
Lately it seems like all art I create is garbage. My passion and love for making art has just slipped away completely, it seems. Just not fun anymore.

But I can't stop doing it. Everytime I sit down, full of zest for drawing, it fizzles away as soon as my pencil touches the paper.

I'm considering just giving it up completely, if I could even manage that.

For those of you who know what it's like/have gotten through it, tell me your method; it's important.

Sayara
Feb 14, 2007, 05:15 PM
Taking breaks away from Art (and not just drop it entirely) helped me a bit. Ripping paper works too.

astuarlen
Feb 14, 2007, 06:38 PM
Ugh, I empathize completely with ya. This happens to me quite often; as an art student, I am constantly forced to be drawing, painting, designing, etc, so it's easy to slip from enjoying it to feeling that it's a chore. Personally, I can't afford to take a break of any substantial length (not doing something art-related for an entire day is pretty much out of the question). What helps me is complaining. Really, when I'm really frustrated by something--and generally that something is art-related--I vent about it profusely for a little bit (usually to my mom ;p She's so nice to put up with my oh-so-dramatic ogod I want to quit/make it stop phone calls). I find that getting it out of my head verbally helps a little. And then I just get back to plugging away, which is what I ought to be doing right now, uuuuuuurgh.
Hope you find a way out of this slump. :]

Dhylec
Feb 14, 2007, 06:58 PM
I think art is from the heart & mind. It expresses what & how you feel. If you can't create art from the heart, as in made to do, you'd dislike it. If it's no longer enjoyable, you should take a break from it. Then, find some inspiration from someone or something to go on.

I try to find the time & inspiration to do some sketching, but I usually get one, but not the other. Heh. ;]

Dre_o