PDA

View Full Version : A question to all you writers

Stormsworder
Apr 17, 2007, 08:40 PM
Okay, I am by no means a newbie when it comes to writing stories. I've been doing it for years now. But thing is, I don't tend to get a lot of comments on my stories when I really need the opinions to see how to improve in my writing. I don't quite see what I'm doing wrong. I mean, I know people read it, and I often ask them to comment on it, but my stories rarely ever get commented at all. I think Eternal Darkness: The Fallen has one reader on NSider who ever gives me helpful comments, and that's all. Phantasy Star Online: Darkness Falls has no comments at all the places I put it.

Now, don't think I'm getting all upset and whining about this, because I don't mean for this to be a whining thread. I'm just curious as to what I can do about this. Of course, I may be utterly stupid asking this, but it just sorta popped in my head...

Sorry to bother you guys about something like this.

Eihwaz
Apr 17, 2007, 09:52 PM
If you'd like some comments, you could always try something like deviantART, although you'll probably have to join some clubs/groups to get people to notice you. You can find a variety of communities willing to critique your work, you just gotta get in one.

If you're of school-ish age, you can ask your teachers/professors to critique your work. It might be slightly awkward as these are fanfiction, but having read your work in the past, I know you take it seriously.

I hope this helps.

KodiaX987
Apr 17, 2007, 10:02 PM
Writing on the Internet gets little to no attention unless you're making a popular Anime/game crossover, usually involving yaoi if you're a girl and lesbo action if you're a guy. These things attract readers like butterflies to a pale blue neon tube. Everything else gets the shaft.