PDA

View Full Version : Teamwork

SS_Death
Nov 27, 2007, 04:36 PM
Is teamwork dead?

Of late, as I perouse the forums I have noticed an ever increasing number of threads with people complaining about things, from the imbalance of certain weapons, to people who don't bring scape dolls on missions. More and more people are worried about 'how does this effect me' and it makes me wonder, is teamwork dead?

I started way back when in the days of DC PSO. My first online experience, as a total newbie I joined a team of experienced players. Their leader chastised me gently for joining without asking, something I later apologised for, but I was still allowed to joing them, the group accepting i was a newbie and helping me out.

Now, having gone through every other available version of PSO, and PSU (or at least those that were available in this country) and having been on countless teams I believe that if I did the same thing now I would be greeted by abuse, insults and a general lack of respect or tolerance and it saddens me.

I've never got into hacking, from the start my friends and I lived the rule of using what we found, not hacking our way to glory. Despite that we did great things, went places at all sorts of levels and had a great time. All of this down to one simple fact, we worked as a team.

There were times when certain abilites annoyed some of us, or people dashed off and ticked off the other members but people spoke out about it and we moderated our behaviour because the needs of the team come first.

So what if someone whats to use a Slicer? So long as they don't hog all the kills it makes no difference.

So what if they don't have scape dolls? So long as they don;t get themselves killed being stupid, I have no qualms about helping them out, as it also helps the team.