PDA

View Full Version : Rekindling old PSO feelings...

lordsheep
May 27, 2008, 06:13 PM
Hey everyone,

I know you must get a ton of these posts a day, but here is my story:

I have been a PSO vet for years. I played it on the DC and the GC, Episodes I, II, and a dab of III. The most fun I've ever had in multiplayer videogames was playing I&II with my brother on my lvl 100+ FoMar and 80+ HuMar. The dynamics of the game and the thrill of redboxes and live action kept us comming back.

However, I sadly never had the chance to play PSO online. I always played it in offline splitscreen. I bought PSU, and the extra mode and lack of offline multiplayer did not help matters.

As the years went on, I was able to get a job and start earning money. I started playing WoW, and I still play it to pass time here at College. Yet, WoW has not and will never fill the void left by PSO.

Recently, I saw an ad for Phantasy Star Portible. As soon as the I heard "Its time to save this world", I got shivers down my spine, remembering the great times I had in PSO. It occured to me that starting an account in PSU was feasable for me now. But as much as this thought brightened my mood, it has left me with several questions.

My chief concern with PSU, knowing how the PSO servers were closed by sega, is how much longer this game will be around. I don't want to become attached and be forced to give it all up again. Also, will I be able to retain my characters if I have to close my account for a month or two.

Lastly, will PSU online help me relive the magic that was and still is PSO? After spending so much time with PSO (more than 200hrs), I feel that I owe it to myself to atleast give online a shot.

Thank you for reading my post. I appreciate any and all feedback.

Kudos!

Yuicihi
May 27, 2008, 06:17 PM
I'm sure Sega will keep the servers open for a while. Regardless, I'm sure they'll make another Phantasy Star when they shut them down.