PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in the house!

Momerathe
Dec 9, 2008, 08:10 PM
well, not a complete newbie: let me explain.

about a year or so ago, I played through PSU & AotI offline on the PS2. i did all the story stuff and so on, but I wasn't networked up so didn't go online.

now, I recently got an X360, so I'm thinking of giving online a go. as such, I've got the usual bunch of questions:

What's the level distribution like? are there a useful number of lowbies around? or is all the action around the level cap running S2 missions? timezone-wise, are there many people on european time around?

What'd you recommend doing first? I was thinking of running each mission once solo as it becomes available just because. Is this worth doing? Is there any value in playing the story missions having seen the content on the ps2 already?

playing offline, swords were my fave melee weapon. yes, they're slow as hell, with their crowd control abilities i found i was clearing levels faster with them than with the others. how does this hold up online? with multiple people i'm guessing that crowd control isn't such an issue, or am i wrong?

how accessible is the game for casual play? i'm only likely to be playing at weekends and even then i'm unlikely to put a massive number of hours into it. Am i going to see much progress? what are good ways to level up quickly?

if you're too lazy to build up your PM and make your own stuff, how viable is it to fall back on shop-bought equipment? (not super-rare gear, obviously, but then i'm not likely to be high enough level to use that for a goodly while ;) )

i'll probably think of more questions, but that'll do for now. if you've read this far, thanks!

Sanjo
Dec 9, 2008, 08:46 PM
I can't speak for the higher levels, but I only recently got back into PSU too after taking a rather large break. I decided to start again because I simply missed too much.