PDA

View Full Version : Yes, I am majoring in Japanese.

Blitzkommando
Jul 16, 2010, 03:16 AM
No, I am not interested in majoring in Chinese.

Normally I would let something like that slide. A person simply making an offhand remark, a suggestion perhaps, as to my chosen path of study. Normally.

However, it seems that every time I mention my choice of degree, whether to other persons my age or to people many years my senior, the first response which is usually not even preceeded by a pause is, "Why aren't you taking Chinese? Chinese is a better language to take because [insert pithy remark here]." When I say this is a common response, I can recall only three people out of dozens who didn't come up with that response, two are my close friends who already knew of my interest in the language, and the third was... a barber this week of whom I have occasionally spoken to over the years but certainly not enough for us to have developed any sort of relationship aside from small conversation.

Actually, speaking with her was so completely refreshing compared to prior experiences. In fact, I prepared myself for the inevitable only to find that she was surprised, as well as seemingly impressed, by my choice. I think this might largely be due to her grandson also taking Japanese as a part of his international business degree but regardless of reason it was a breath of fresh air from the norm.