PDA

View Full Version : PSO2 vs TERA Online

Easen
May 16, 2011, 09:14 PM
I am a veteran PSO player back since Dreamcast & GC but I have been following the game TERA for over 2 years now and have noticed the action oriented gameplay style between PSO2 and TERA are very similar. Now there isn't very much information out atm about PSO2 since we just recently acquired the first glimpse of gameplay footage.

Now I know there is no release date for either game but I do believe TERA will be released in September some time if nothing goes wrong. PSO2 hasn't even hit Alpha testing and I don't see it coming out until Q4 of 2011 or even later.

I am just curious to which game will be worth playing since I'm sure both will have a 15$ subscription fee. I for one will be playing both until I find out which one has more to offer.

Things to take into consideration. The PSO genre has always been the same, not much content with very repetitive gameplay. Also the notorious company behind PSO is SEGA who has let it's loyal customers down multiple times. (Though if all goes well we will share a global server with the Japanese players which will make everyone happy)

As for TERA, not much is known about the new company behind the game since this will be there first game published. The one thing we do know about the company is that it consists of people from other top leading MMORPG companies. The gameplay behind TERA is very much like PSOs action based gameplay style. Though it's based in a persistent world where PSO has always been lobby based.

It seems like SEGA is trying to make PSO2 more like modern day MMORPGs but they always seem to be a step behind. Other games are coming out with the same action oriented gameplay style but with massively more content. These are also being called the Next Gen MMORPGs.

I'm just looking for peoples opinion on each game because I've been anticipating and hyping both games up for quite a while now.