PDA

View Full Version : Does Japan have a holiday similar to Christmas for non-Christians?

Roger Triton
Nov 12, 2011, 01:31 PM
And specifically, since I'm no expert on Shinto, is there such a holiday in the Shinto religion?
Topic.

Zarode
Nov 12, 2011, 03:04 PM
Yes, most Japanese celebrate Christmas incorrectly, too. As does most of the Western-touched world.

Sinue_v2
Nov 12, 2011, 03:30 PM
Christmas in Japan is pretty much a commercial holiday wherein some of the nobler secular portion of Christmas (peace on earth, goodwill towards men, etc) are paid lip service for the sake of boosting commerce.

You know, pretty much exactly like how it's celebrated in the West... except without Fox News throwing a shit-fit about local commerce saying "Happy Holidays" instead of "Merry Christmas" constituting a war on baby Jesus.

yoshiblue
Nov 12, 2011, 03:38 PM
Yet are fine with celebrating a "pagan" holiday that is Halloween and a few other holidays.

Kent
Nov 12, 2011, 08:49 PM
Christmas in Japan is pretty much a commercial holiday wherein some of the nobler secular portion of Christmas (peace on earth, goodwill towards men, etc) are paid lip service for the sake of boosting commerce.
It's funny how similar this is to the situation across all of the US, even in the redneck zealot states like Mississippi and Alabama, the commercial appeal of Saturnalia Christmas weighs roughly equally to its retrofitted religious signifigance.

Of course, this is probably related to the fact that, as far as the US Government is concerned, Christmas is a federal holiday, rather than one limited to a specific religious group.

NoiseHERO
Nov 12, 2011, 09:01 PM
What? what is all of this?

I thought xmas was a business holiday that was so awesome and overrated that everyone went to the party.

I just like the snow and pretty lights and the happy non-parent/guardian people.

Nobody cares about the actual story behind cool holidays anymore hohohoho... Thanks Giving probably has the worst anyway.