PDA

View Full Version : So I rolled a Ranger, and now I'm curious

MissMalice
Jul 13, 2012, 12:33 AM
I've played around with a Ranger for the first time--like literally the first time since I started playing PSU when it first came out--and I'm enjoying it so far. I've been browsing the forums for tips and how to make the most of my RA-experience, and its come to my attention that almost no one likes launcher, which surprised the hell out of me because I see so many people running around with them.

I started out with an AR and I thought it was fine~ Honestly, I got to level 8 without even remembering that launchers existed. After five minutes, I was pretty much in love with launcher. So, I'm just a bit curious as to why it seems like most Rangers dislike launchers so much. I mean, I see the negatives: not as versatile, shots miss easily, reload times. It also sucks to be unable to dodge roll immediately.

Anywho! Just looking for some answers for more experienced Rangers as to why launchers are so looked down upon~ Note: I'm not bashing ARs or anything. Just seems like either weapons can get the job done easily enough. c:

MelancholyWitch
Jul 13, 2012, 12:36 AM
It's because their AOE PA attack does more damage than single target PA attacks, which is a bit confusing, Rifles are just more fun sometimes you're forced to use the AOE capabilities of the launcher but for the most part Rifles are 100 times more useful in boss fights if you have the right build your multiparty will down any bosses they find in less than a minute.

Geistritter
Jul 13, 2012, 12:37 AM
People dislike launchers because they're efficient, and it's cool to bitch about using something that's useful.

Seriously, that's it.

Assault Rifles have their place, but they're your weakest weapon overall; this is made up for by their versatility - and Weak Shot, of course, but no one says you can't switch to another weapon when you've used your last bullet, and if they do, they're silly.