PDA

View Full Version : New to PSO2, need general advice

SupraMedical68
Dec 29, 2012, 10:49 PM
Well, I'm a 11 year PSO vet now and I've been needing my Phantasy Star fix lately, so I finally caved in on building a computer and I just now downloaded PSO2 JP yesterday. I'm still getting used to the feel of the game, I haven't felt like this much of a noob since I started a PSU account on 360 back in 2007. So far though, I'm pretty satisfied with PSO2. I may even continue to play on Japanese servers after the localized version is released in the States.

I've already read some great PSO2 related threads. I don't have any burning questions anymore, but I could use some advice on my Hunter build and information on the overall community.

Basically, I just want be a short range fighter that can heal and buff myself and others. I might also be soloing a lot this time so I'd like to be extremely balance and be able to survive a decent amount of punishment. I think I'll be fine just using the sword, partisan, and wired lance, provided the PAs don't suck too bad. So, from what I've already been told so far I should be a Hunter with a Techer subclass. I already looked at a skill tree calculator and I guess they look ok.

http://ryuhiroshi.funpic.de/pso2/skillcalc.html

The questions is, will a Hunter/Techer be worth the hassle or will I be wasting my time? Also, is there anything I should keep in mind for my skill trees? I already have a general idea of what I'll need on my two skill trees, but I'd hate to have to redo them and pay the extra money for new ones.

Secondly, what's the best way to find parties and making English speaking friends? It already sucks that I'm showing up to the party late, but PSO2 doesn't have that crazy lively atmosphere that PSO and and PSU had. I'm not as social as I was back on DreamCast and GameCube so it'd be nice to know where all the other easy going/laid-back players are hiding.