PDA

View Full Version : I'm Not Mad, I'm Just Disappointed

CDOG14515
Feb 26, 2013, 03:47 PM
Hey guys,

Let me start this off by saying I think this is an awesome community. Always has been, likely always will be. I couldn't think of anywhere better to voice my frustrations with PSO2 seemingly not coming to the West. I apologize in advance for how cliched this topic must be by now.

When I started playing PSO Episode I&II on GameCube (and later Xbox), it completely blew my mind. I wasn't a PC gamer, and the notions of joining ships with crowded lobbies, joining games, playing together and getting loot were foreign, exciting and unlike anything else's had experienced by 2002. I loved the tactical card battled of Episode III...I even play the PSO soundtrack regularly to this day (which is fantastic, as I'm sure you know). PSO had one of the most unique and compelling combinations of art and sound design, and still feels like it's own thing in 2013.

In 2006, I was colossally disappointed by PSU. I know a lot of people liked that one, but it didn't do it for me. When PSO2 was announced, it made me hopeful again, an I waited. Won't be on consoles? Oh, well that's ok. Going F2P? Well, that could be promising. I got over every new potentially scary change, until now, February 2013, as it sort of seems like the game is never coming west.

I said all that to say this: I don't blame Sega. I know it's the economic climate of that company more than a beef with non-Japanese players. I don't even blame Gearbox, who may have contributed to Sega's plight more than we can know. I'm not mad, just disappointed that the only way to experience PSO2 is to play on the Japanese servers, which in effect, probably makes it seem like fewer westerners even care about an English client, since the hardcore want to be where the population/patches are.

Anyways, sorry for TLDR, I'm just bummed : /

Keyblade59
Feb 26, 2013, 03:49 PM