PDA

View Full Version : Whoa...google translate got me thinking:

Syklo
Apr 3, 2013, 10:04 PM
Why/how exactly does ファンタシー output as "Phantasy" without any definitions/synonyms, instead of "Fantasy";
yet ファンタジー outputs as "Fantasy" with a definition?

Heck, this leads to 2 questions
1. Is there a difference between these 2 words?
2. Is it possible that the title was originally a typo but stuck with it?

I dunno...I am a newb to this series so what do i know? :-?
It got me thinking though...

Mikessc88
Apr 3, 2013, 10:24 PM
Well perhaps they simply choose not to translate it literally for promotional purposes. Also perhaps they named it in English first and had no other way of translating it without using F sound in Japanese. But much like you i'm not an expert in this ^^.

The Walrus
Apr 3, 2013, 10:24 PM
It's just another way to spell it. It's in Merriam-Webster's dictionary.

Mikessc88
Apr 3, 2013, 10:30 PM
I guess its just interesting that google translate chooses to show it as Phantasy instead of Fantasy

This spelling outputs Fantasy due to a variation in the of the shi character, replace it with ji and you get Fantasy
ファンタジー

Syklo
Apr 3, 2013, 10:35 PM
It's just another way to spell it. It's in Merriam-Webster's dictionary.
That's according to one source...
Some others say that one is about something psychological in medical practice, and another simply "imagination/desire unfulfilled"
Primary curiousity is why G-T outputs "Phantasy" instead of "Fantasy"

BlueCast Boy
Apr 3, 2013, 10:42 PM
Never trust a translator, there never that accurate but at least they help...

Shadowth117
Honestly, its just how they felt like romanizing it. They could have spellled it Phontoshee staa if they'd wanted it and it would still pretty much work. In Japanese, Fantasy from Final Fantasy uses the same spelling as Phantasy from Phantasy Star (or very close, haven't looked in a while).