PDA

View Full Version : A Sense of Proportion?

kalten
Mar 7, 2001, 12:21 PM
Dear Folks,

I am relatively new to PSO (well OK I have been playing it offline since it was released over here in the UK and have managed to complete the game on normal difficulty level, I am now a level 43 HUMar named 'Kalten')

Start again - I have only just started playing PSO in online mode.

Looking at the messages posted here there seem to be endless threads about duplicating the rare items that can be found in the game ('duping?') and using cheat codes to increase your levels and stealing other players' weapons and money when they die (along with some very strange stuff about harassing female players for cybersex.)

I am sure I am missing all sorts of complex and subtle aspects of these topics, but the solution to these problems appears to be simple. People have cheated at games (of all sorts, not just computer games) ever since they were invented. So expecting them not to cheat is naive? If I am playing the game and I find some rare weapon or shield or armour or whatever, then that is through my time and effort and I feel suitably good about that. If some other player wants to use a cheat to get this item or get it from another player who has copied the item, this only damages them and not me. I would not want to take the easy option of accepting anything from another player that I could obtain myself by playing the game fairly.

If I decide to hook up with a team of complete strangers and play the game online then I should realise that I run the risk of them not behaving honestly and taking the chance to steal my weapon and money if I die. In the same way as meeting up with a group of strangers in a bar and paying pool with them carries the risk of losing my money or being mugged in the rest room? I am sure there are well established communities of players where there is a good chance that you will be playing with honest partners who will help you rather than rip you off?