PDA

View Full Version : Why most people who cannot connect now will never be able to connect again

zoolz8l
Jun 29, 2014, 07:24 AM
Hello,

i have followed all the discussion about possible ip bans, ip range blocks etc and i am affected by it myself. Since i work in the industry myself, i would like to share some insight on the current situation from my perspective and also an explanation why most of us will never be able to connect again (i know this is hard to take in):

What Sega did is pretty much standart precedure. They are not ip banning but blocking a large amount of ip ranges and/or backbones from where the DDOS originated. In my case the trace does not even make it past the third hop which is at my homecountries border.
This is usually the first step. Step two would be to check if any customers are affected by the blocks and gradually opening some of the blocks that affect legit customers and then doing a finer range block in that ip range/region. Then basicly repeat this as many times as you need to make all customers connect again. I think thats the phase we are in now.

Now we come to the bad part: none of us is a legit customer to them and i would be surprised if more than 1% overall profit is generated from the non japanese players. So what they will do is to open the blocks until no more problems exist for japanese players and thats it. There is NO REASON at all, why they would look into the other blocks and invest time and money to make them more specific. In my case that ip block starts at the countries border (germany) at a backbone of my provider. Never ever could this block affect any japanese player. Never. Thats why it is basicly gonna stay active till the end of time ( or when sega shuts down the game in a few years).
Some of you might be lucky and their routing is blocked at a much later hop that could somehow also affect a japanese person. But most of us need to face the cold truth: no more PSO2 without any additional means (vpn etc).