PDA

View Full Version : Private SSH tunnel

gaijin_punch
Jul 5, 2014, 09:57 AM
I don't need a ton of directions. If it comes down to it, I'll use the AWS method if I have to. But, I've got a friend I play with here in Japan who says I can dump off a Linux box at his place box before I repatriate to the US. In theory, if he's got an SSH server running on that box, can I run an SSH tunnel there, and then use something on Windows to tell it point all traffic to the SSH port on that machine? I use Windows for one thing: PSO2. I assume one of the tools in the AWS thread would work?

I've got some experience w/ SSH tunnels (on the terminal only), and more specifically squid which I *assume* could work but I've not really tested any of this. I got about 6 weeks before I throw the parachute.

Cheers.

nanamin
Jul 5, 2014, 11:25 AM
AWS is nothing special, it's basically a unix server. Therefore what you're trying to accomplish should not be a problem. However, do make sure to setup the router / SSH so that you can access the server when your back in the US.

In other words either configure SSH to use an already open port, or setup the router so that it uses the default port 22 for SSH. I recommend to change the default port to something else for security reasons. I'd also try to connect to this server whilst you still have physical access, in order to make sure the authentication has no issues.

Also if it's at a friends house, make sure to get a low energy consuming / quiet (preferably silent) machine. ^^

gaijin_punch
Jul 5, 2014, 11:30 AM
The server sucks and is loud. :). But it just needs a new fan.

Noted in changing the default port. I have access to all my machines and the external poet is never 22. So is it as easy as the command (which I don't have handy) which listens in a port and forwards traffic to an IP?

nanamin
Jul 5, 2014, 12:29 PM
Once you've installed Linux (I prefer Debian), install OpenSSH.

apt-get install openssh-server