PDA

View Full Version : Roleplaying in Phantasy Star Universe: What's your opinion?

ShinMatsumoto
Aug 21, 2006, 03:29 PM
I'm a writer.

End of story. I enjoy writing, I enjoy scratching out random bits of nothing on a piece of paper that make for interesting scenes in my mind.

As such, whenever I'm playing an online game, I enjoy writing for my characters there as well.

However, this is harder to do than it seems...

The only game truly friendly to roleplaying that I've really seen is City of Heroes, and even then, only with a small group of people; the rest are complete idiots.

However, Phantasy Star Online (and by comparison, Phantasy Star Universe) has an advantage in this. It's already got a small population of players devoted to the game, and the population isn't that likely to grow due to an almost cult interest in the game. (Opinions, don't hang me on this please...)

I've been playing Online since Version 1. I've always loved the Phantasy Star series, and it seems that with Phantasy Star Universe, they'll doing one thing I wanted with Phantasy Star Online; introducing more backstory to make it easier to run a character.

I'll be roleplaying on PSU. I'll be running a character who has a personality, hates, likes, everything.

I want to ask. Who else is even remotely interested in this? Who else is going to have more than just an online avatar?

Saner
Aug 21, 2006, 03:38 PM
well ya roleplaying is what makes a RPG a truely fun RPG experience. http://www.pso-world.com/images/phpbb/icons/smiles/icon_beer.gif

others just play for substance and cheap internet cafe-mood interaction.

but ya you can be sure there will be roleplayers in PSU http://www.pso-world.com/images/phpbb/icons/smiles/anime1.gif

phunk
Aug 21, 2006, 03:39 PM
Ye, PSU is an ideal game for this. Unlike other major MMOs, PSO & PSU cater to that casual aspect that roleplaying needs.