PDA

View Full Version : PS2 vs. PC

PSUneedsMyau
Aug 22, 2006, 02:21 AM
I have a question and maybe someone who has had experience with more recent versions of PSO can help me out on this one. I own a PS2, but on my PC I have a 3.2Ghz/2GB Ram/2 Geforce GT7800 OC's (they are SLI'd). I'm trying to figure out which option would be the best for PSU, and I don't plan on buying an X-Box 260 that I won't play a year from now when the PS3 comes out. (:

Before anyone says obviously the PC is the best choice over PS2 if you have two vid cards working simultaneously as one GPU, I have to say that Half Life 2 and Quake 4 are "full frame rate" on my machine, and I stress the double quotes. Lots of timeslicing is given up to Windows, and I always notice those tiny off-syncs that remind me that I'm playing on a Windows machine and not a true console, so it tends to ruin the experience when you've so accustomed to it after years of playing games and also being a developer (I'm a programmer for my job, so I have to know this stuff...).

I owned PSO v1 for the Dreamcast back when it first came out (I've been a big fan of the Phantasy Star series since the SMS, so it was no surprise that I drooled when the first PSO game came out, and I just found out about PSU this last weekend). However, I played a PC version of PSO v1 later that had very minimal Direct X support that had a software limitation of only 30fps. I'm hoping Sega has stepped up the graphics performance on the PC games since then in the PSO series, but I wouldn't know b/c I dropped off whenever they shut down the Seganet servers on the DC and starting charging for the game. Speaking of which, does anyone have an idea what the monthly fees associated with this game will be?

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: PSUneedsMyau on 2006-08-22 00:23 ]</font>

Shadow_Wing
Aug 22, 2006, 02:50 AM