PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else an obsessive power gamer like myself?

Pages : [1] 2

MrConstipated
Oct 19, 2006, 10:10 PM
I've been playing mmorpg's since about 2000, i started with EQ and have since played a handfull of others. Online rpg's are my favorite genre by far.

The wait for PSU is killing me and i feel the need to be one of the first ones logged on the 25th. Any day later i feel like im falling behind.

I also have a passion for obtaining the best stuff in the game before the majority of the population, as a status symbol so to speak. The whole aspect of a players status is one thing that really draws me to these types of games. The rich look down on the poor and vice versa. If everything was on a even playing field these types of games would bore me.

Is there a chance i'll get burnt out on the game with this type of attitude? Sure, it depends on the game really, but my addictive nature will have me coming back no doubt.

Cigaro
Oct 19, 2006, 10:36 PM
Sympathy post.

BioWarrior
Oct 19, 2006, 10:37 PM
Everything kinda IS on an even playing field in phantasy star... lol

Flamingo99
Oct 19, 2006, 10:40 PM
On 2006-10-19 20:36, Cigaro wrote:
Sympathy post.

ha....

But anyway... I'm not so... "hardcore" (I hate that word...) with video games anymore. Diablo 2 made me realize that trying to be the best isn't fun (In my opinion) and that you lose the whole point of playing a video game when you try to be the best... which is to enjoy it. But thats how I feel. "To each his own."

Cigaro
Oct 19, 2006, 10:40 PM
Seriously.

This isn't World of Warcraft. You don't have to be a power gamer with PSU, since a few hours of mission grinding would bring you back to normal.

Most of the people playing this game will be playing it casually.

Yoruichi
Oct 19, 2006, 10:41 PM