PDA

View Full Version : My experience with PSU so far

MonomateJunky
Nov 10, 2006, 09:00 PM
tl;dr - Please give me some tips to improve my playstyle. lol text

I've never played PSO before, but I have played more MMOs over the years than I care to admit. This is the sixth of six very long days since I started playing PSU, during which I've gotten to chapter 4 in the single player, a level 21 Newman Force, a level 12 CAST Ranger, and a level 10 Beast Hunter.

It took me a while to get used to movement in PSU, as it's far more an action game than it is an MMO (and yes I know it's not technically an MMO). The fact that turning a direction while standing still makes your character move 90 degrees annoyed me for a good while, until I finally got used to making quick U-turns to reposition myself. Strafing helps a great deal, but there are plenty of times when you just need to move quickly, and running in a tight circle is actually faster. It's not perfect, unfortunately. I found switching to a gamepad was an immense help, and buying an adapter for my old Playstation gamepad was even better-- though not as much as I'd hoped.

I'm hard pressed to pick a favorite combat type, but if I had to I'd probably go with Ranger. Dual handguns makes for a quick, frenetic playstyle, and interrupts like nobody's business. Rifles pack a great punch and are just the thing to take out fliers. Both let you aim in first person, thus negating the need for careful repositioning. Strafing tends to fill in any other holes.