PDA

View Full Version : Some JP-related questions~~

Alli
Nov 25, 2006, 11:36 AM
I have a few questions for you guys, particularly those of you who used to play on the JP servers back in the PSO days.

I started playing PSO during its Dreamcast days, and one of the best parts of the game for me was playing with all of the friendly and cooperative JP players. In fact, a lot of times I would just end up standing around in the lobby, chatting with people and improving my Japanese vocabulary instead of playing the actual game. It was unlike any online community I'd ever seen. People were generally much more polite and courteous than I'd in other games, and when joining a party to blast through a ruins run or take on some challenge stages, everyone worked together and did their part to help out the team. To be fair, many of the US players also did this, but it was often harder to find the good guys amidst the sea of FSOD'ing hackers and DBZ-cloned-10-year-olds. For me, the JP servers became a haven where I knew I could nearly always expect a great friendly game, people sharing equally of rares, and a good time overall.

Naturally, when I learned that in PSU, the JP servers would not be accessible any longer with US versions of the game, I was very disheartened. I didn't leap to buy the game as I had in the past, when the GameCube version was released. I was convinced that I would never find a good community of friendly and honest gamers to play with in this latest iteration of the game. But after returning here to the PSOW forums and poking around a bit, it seems that there may still be some good times to be had after all. For those of you who were fond in the past of playing on the JP servers, is PSU sufficiently cool/fun/satisfying to play with your US brethren, or do you still find yourself longing for a good pick-up game with some peeps on the other side of the planet? Please let me know your feelings on this!

Alli
Nov 25, 2006, 11:39 AM