Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

---Reposted---
    According to Sega of Japan, Phantasy Star Online has had a few issues with cheating recently. As a result, they have released an official statement to explain the situation. Apparently, some Japanese gamers have found a way to hack the character VMU files, and basically max their characters, items, weapons, etc. The Japanese servers have been shut down several times (which would explain why Japanese players are flooding certain US servers), in order to find a way to combat the hacks. Sega does not want these hackers ruining the game for the rest of the PSO players, by "illegally changing character data".
    This problem goes way beyond the usage of simple cheat devices, and Sega is busy tracking (and eliminating) the cheaters. We will keep you up to date.
    ---Reposted---

All I have to say is this doesnt worry me much. Since I started playing I rarely played with someone who wasnt from this board and all of my games have been cheat free =).

Playing as Keahi on Phantasy Star Portable 2 - US Version.

Don't believe everything you read, I'd say. I'm not sure Sega legally can ban/eliminate cheaters since there's no license you must agree to stating that you may not cheat. They'd basically be denying you a service you've paid for, even though they never told you anywhere that you may not cheat. The only time they could do this is if you did something that's actually illegal, like hacking their server. The VMU and save files don't belong to them, so there's no law broken.

i would have to disagree as here we don't pay for the use of the servers in japan they do. there fore I imaging they would have to sign some sort of thing to in order to get an ID and pass to use.

they may be breaking some sort of contract. and who's to say that they can't u dont' own the servers using it is a privilage of sorts.. there is nothing stopping sega from bringin them down and keeping them down.