PDA

View Full Version : PSU-PC: Sudden PSU slowdown problems

Criss
Jul 10, 2007, 01:56 AM
I've been playing PSU for several months now, using the same graphics setting. Basically, 1280x1024 in windowed mode with highest graphical settings. Now I log back in today after work like usual, check my room and mail friends, and lose internet connection. Nothing too bad, can happen once in a while.

But then I log back in, warp back to Neudaiz, and I start getting a pretty bad constant slowdown. I haven't changed any settings at all on either PSU or windows, and haven't installed any new software. Now wherever I go: lobby, missions, etc... I can't do anything without going half-speed.

For some reason, though the application is there, the task manager doesn't display any process belonging to PSU while the game is on, and even though it shows CPU usage at around 40%, the Inactive Processes is at 99.

As I'm writing this, I just checked the WinXP Manager software's Process Manager, and it seems the System Idle Process' main window would be the PSU window, for some reason. I might be wrong, but don't all applications have their own process with the name of their .exe?

Oh and I run a custom built PC with an AMD Athlon X2 4600+ CPU, an Nvidia Geforce 7950 GT video card, 2 GB ram, on Windows XP SP2. The kind of thing with which I can run Command & Conquer Tiberium Wars on highest graphics settings without problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Criss on 2007-07-10 00:04 ]</font>

xxShinobi
Jul 10, 2007, 09:13 AM
I too have noticed (And I'm running on Vista Premium) that psu does indeed not have a process. And it isn't the system idle process either. Kind of complicated to explain that but it's on a different subject anyhow. So in short, no that's not PSU lol.

I had that problem but it wasn't with my internet, so i don't think thats your problem either.