PDA

View Full Version : Noob Qs for settin' up one's PSP for PSP...

Clunker
Jul 12, 2008, 10:44 PM
Ok, here goes.

Since I've not seen 'my type' of games for the PSP, I've overlooked any and all info on the device...

However, my roomate has one - and doesn't use it much. So, he's nice enough to allow me to fiddle.

The system data says that it is at v#3.72 (prolly as its been used for maybe 5hrs max since purchase).

I understand that its a wireless device - but how do I go abot getting the system updated to th
level needed to properly play PSP? PSP needs, what, 3.90 minimum, 4.01 for best results?

Please be as idiot-proof with this as possible - as I've NO experience with this sorta thing, and don't want to f-up a buddies' device on this!

Zarode
Jul 12, 2008, 11:22 PM

Network update.

Find your access point. Configure as needed.

Make sure your battery is at least at 75% battery life.

It's idiot proof after that.

beatrixkiddo
Jul 12, 2008, 11:28 PM
Make sure he's not using 3.71 M-33 or you're gonna have a pissed-off buddy.

Clunker
Jul 12, 2008, 11:31 PM
See, this is exactly why I asked - what would have happened?

I just made certain of the system vers. - as per the OP, its 3.72 - not good enough to run.
I think we need to get to a free wireless zone - there aren't any near the apartment (within PSP range anwhow). Sigh.

So, does the "Scan" option of network auto setup if there's free wifi available?

beatrixkiddo
Jul 12, 2008, 11:42 PM
M33 is customized firmware (hacked), it lets you do all sort of neato things. Trying to upgrade from custom firmware to official can brick (make the PSP not load, etc) the PSP, and even if it doesn't brick the PSP, it's a lot of trouble to go BACK to the custom firmware.

But if it was just plain 3.72, there's nothing to worry about.