PDA

View Full Version : (open fanfic) Apocalypse Aftermath 2: War in the mines

G-Assassin
Jan 29, 2003, 03:57 PM
We leave the story of Jono for a while, and go to another's. The importance of teamwork and the strength of a group cannot be emphasised enough in the fight against Dark. Another Star in the Constellation is a young but experienced newman boy. His name is Ryker.

Life is really hard now, it seems. Fighting photon infused animals and artificial monsters isn't the greatest job, but it pays well. It's too bad my employer, the Principal, lost his daughter, but I wish he would be a little less vague when he gave me a Hunter's License. I can't tell you how many times I woke up to see nurses standing over me in the medical room, or how much money I spend on monofluid bottles to stay alive.

It didn't used to be this way. I used to be a history major college student back on the home planet. When it was destroyed, so was my morale. I thought that now the planet was gone, the history of it was pretty much meaningless. I drank a lot, and had sleepless nights alone, wondering why I should still be alive. I wanted to get married someday, and live happily ever after, but the dream just kept turning into a nightmare.

Apparently I still have a purpose.
Last night at midnight, I was sleeping in the residential area of the Pioneer 2, when my phone rang. I frowned and picked up the receiver, already knowing who'd have the nerve to call me at this ridiculous hour.
"Principal Tyrell."
"Yes, Ryker. I have a new assignment for you. This will be a tough one."
"Explain it to me more then."
"There's a terrorist group in the mines that I want you to scatter. I don't know who or what you'll be up against, but you can be sure that they'll be well armed. It shouldn't be much of a problem for you, you being a Force and all, but I'd advise taking someone with you, preferably a hunter class mercenary."
"What's the pay on this job?"
"50,000."
"I'll take it, but I don't like it."