PDA

View Full Version : What's up with my ps2?

hooray4punkmusic
Feb 10, 2003, 08:51 PM
Just recently my gamecube broke, so my cousin lent me his ps2. When he was here on sunday it was working fine. Then he left and sent me some of his games. Devil may cry, maximo and Z.O.E. I started playing maximo and an error message pops up "disc read error". I try it agin and it works. Then i got bored of maximo and tryed to play devil may cry. But it says agin "disk read error". Then i try Z.O.E and the same thing pops up? Then i try maximo agin same message pops up! Then i try play a dvd. And it doesn't work? I take the games to my friends housee and they work fine. But my ps2 won't load them! By the way it's 2 years old. My friend said the lens might be dirty or broken? But it was working when my cousin was playing it, and then i tried to play then that damn message pops up! Please help!!!

_xX_Frosty_Xx_
Feb 10, 2003, 09:31 PM
The Disc Error message comes up the most in older PS2 systems, it's just an error on Sony's part. Tell your cousin to get it fixed or get another one =(

TerribleDeliMeat
Feb 10, 2003, 09:38 PM
Sounds like a bad dvd drive. Best bet is get it sent to Sony for repair...though if its warranty is out of date...get prepared to get whacked for fees.

Vantamiath
Feb 10, 2003, 09:46 PM
This is a huge "underground" problem.

Mine does the same thing.

...My gym teacher gave me the PS2 DVD CD that you download to a memory card, and it supposedly changes the disc speed from DVD to games.

This error is due to watching DVD's on the PS2, because DVDs and games have different lens-speeds, so the PS2 reader gets confused alot, and the real thing that sucks is, you cant do jack crap about it.

SnAPPUrU-nyan-ko
Feb 10, 2003, 11:09 PM
Did you move the PS2 from a warm place to a cold place, or vice versa? That might put condensation on the lens. I read that somewhere, but that probably means it's BS =^_^=

hooray4punkmusic
Feb 10, 2003, 11:27 PM