PDA

View Full Version : A (not so?) Simple way to have prevented cheating....

Phelan
Mar 2, 2003, 06:56 PM
Ok, maybe I am crazy and I am no lawyer, but if Sega had put a clause in the ToS(Terms of Service) that states that they strictly prohibit cheating of any kind in PSO and that by cheating or doing anything to change the parameters of the game to benefit themselves or harm the gameplay of others will have their accounts banned and their money will not be refunded.
Then all PSO would need is somekind of interface to report suspected cheaters to a group of admins who would then investigate the suspect. I mean come on we are gonna pay 9 bucks a month, you would think that it would be feasible to have some kind of anti-cheat support staff to work on keeping PSO cheat/hack free. Ugh, sorry about the rant, but if PSOX is as easy to hack as many people think it will be, there is no way I am gonna invest the time/money to play the game.

Duoteth
Mar 2, 2003, 10:01 PM
Umm... Doesn't it? (http://www.sega.com/community/profiles/pso_gcn/pc_front/gcn_pc_terms.jhtml#conduct)

Alas, I think that having some sort of built-in reporting method would just be overly abused. There's too many spiteful and manipulative people willing to bend the truth whenever they want to strike out against those who displease them.

That said though, you can report serious problems to [email protected]. If you do that, make sure you give very detailed information about the incident.

I dunno... It doesn't really seem like a problem to me now. Unlike the DC version where you had to live with the possibility of someone permenantly destroying your character "for the fun of it", the cheaters on the GC version are utterly benign and annoying at best if you bother to hang out near them.

Phelan
Mar 2, 2003, 10:16 PM