PDA

View Full Version : Newbie freeplay question

bamf226
Mar 19, 2010, 10:35 PM
I received Phantasy Star Zero for my birthday a few weeks back. I was pretty excited because I knew it had online play which is something I've been looking for in a game. I've gone through the first quest in solo mode and played a few freeplay sessions and I'm really wondering what the point of the online mode is.

From what I can tell as a complete newbie to Phantasy Star in general and this game, freeplay is just taking you through a random dungeon to one of the level bosses just like in story mode. So why do people play freeplay? I suppose I'm just ignorant, but I don't find there to be much difference between AI teammates and real life folks except real folks will heal you and rez you if you die.

Can someone shed some light on the Phantasy Star online experience? Sorry if I sound so stupid.

warrior5061
Mar 19, 2010, 10:39 PM
They can be a lot more intelegent and they deal more damage in higher difficulties than the useless AI

zeital
Mar 19, 2010, 10:41 PM
trust us, once u get good people in ur FC list u will hate doing things offline, it is so much more fun running around online with ur friends, most people dislike freeplay cuz u can't talk as much, but once u get to like lv15 u will start to see just how much the AI's suck

bamf226
Mar 19, 2010, 10:47 PM
But you have to beat the bosses on story mode before you can really get into those levels in freeplay. Why go through a level in story mode and then keep going through it in freeplay with other people? Having never played a Phantasy Star game before, what am I missing? Is this just a culture thing between east and west RPGs? Do JRPGs expext you to play the same levels over and pver with your friends instead of experiencing a story?

zeital
Mar 19, 2010, 11:33 PM