PDA

View Full Version : Better late than... nevermind...

Dek
Aug 30, 2010, 06:15 PM
I was working at a grocery store for the summer. The same one I've been working at for the past 3 years. No problems whatsoever with anything until this summer...

The second to last week came by, and I was about to start a 4-8pm shift, a(nother) night where I was the only one in the department. As I was about to clock in, that's when the personnel coordinator notices me:

PC: "Have you done your safety training yet?
Me: O_o um... no one told me anything about any safety training whatsoever...
PC: O____o;
(Yes. There was no other way to describe her reaction)

Apparently, I was supposed to do safety training at the beginning of the summer when I started work. The store manager told my (department) manager that I needed to do safety training. My department manager never told me (obviously).

I suppose the phrase "better late than never" could describe this situation, as I did do the training on another day that I was scheduled to work (second to last day that I was scheduled to work before going back to school >>), but if this was something that was required by all associates... can't a little bit more communication... oh who the fuck am I kidding?

Delete
Aug 31, 2010, 12:54 PM
Jobs tend to suck. I think that may be part of the moral here.

Dhylec
Aug 31, 2010, 03:18 PM
It happens: Absent-minded supervisor/mgr, tardy relayed memo - communication problems. Just do it & get it over. Some higher-ups can get very anal about missing certain safety training.

HAYABUSA-FMW-
Sep 1, 2010, 06:20 PM
Safety training is important, as maybe some martial arts too on the job.

Those bales aren't like boards and can hit back!

Think of it as, you were doing such a good job anyway, plenty safe that they all thought you had the training. And after training you might see you were doing all that good stuff anyway. Or see bad workers not getting the talkings to for being unsafe or helpful.

Ketchup345