PDA

View Full Version : Ranger Viability?

Grump
Jul 31, 2011, 01:16 PM
I'm a fair newbie to the PSU world, but not MMO's. My main background has always been more of the number-crunching and maximizing crowd. As it stands, I'm trying out the Ranger type whilst playing as a CAST (the description spoke of higher accuracy, which is always a good thing IMO).

Now what I'm noticing is that my damage is sub-par. I have the most expensive Rifle from the merchant, and the most expensive Dual Handguns that I can find as well. The two Rifles are using Plasma and Burn bullets, while the Handguns are using Freeze bullets.

I understand the whole "Keeping safe" thing, but will I always be gimp as far as damage output? I'm only level 13 (2 Ranger), but if the Ranger isn't the way to go, I want to change ASAP.

RemiusTA
Jul 31, 2011, 01:42 PM
melee classes are most definitely the path to go for damage. That's just a given, they outdamage everybody on this game.

If you want to increase damage as a ranger, get ready to go through the ridiculous methods of increasing your bullet levels...

BIG OLAF
Jul 31, 2011, 01:44 PM
melee classes are most definitely the path to go for damage. That's just a given, they outdamage everybody on this game.

Limit Break Diga would like a word.

pikachief
Jul 31, 2011, 01:51 PM

If you want to increase damage as a ranger, get ready to go through the ridiculous methods of increasing your bullet levels...

not that rediculous. Twin handguns and shotguns don't that that long to level up. Other bullets on the other had do :/

Also, enemies are weak against opposite elements. Fire <-> Ice, electric <-> Ground, and light <-> dark. So your plasma bullets will be stronger against ground enemies but it will be weaker against electric enemies.