PDA

View Full Version : Is this game a prequel?

Xevioso
Nov 12, 2012, 05:36 PM
Hi, sorry. I'm new to the Phantasy Star series, (This being my first game) so I really don't know much about the storyline. I tried reading through wikis, but I'm left confused. Is this a beginning to the entire series or just the Online/Universe games?

Also, why are the allies in this game so useless? :P

DoctorShanks
Nov 12, 2012, 07:17 PM
Yeah, it's a prequel. I guess that's what the Zero implies. My default knowledge on this game fades me at the moment, but someone else should be able to answer why it is a prequel better than me. If you've finished the game, go attempt the second Dark Shrine quest; it has quite a bit of valuable info :)

As for the allies, I feel like if they were any stronger, you'd be able to hide behind them and let them do all the work. But yeah, you're right :P The only thing they're good for is being a meatshield. Sarisa heals once in a while, and if you main a CAST, then Kai can provide Shifta. Ogi is pretty decent, but I didn't bring him along in the gun-resistance areas (namely, Paru and Gurhacia) Reve has no defense, and dies more often than any other ally in my experiences.

Link1275
Nov 12, 2012, 07:45 PM
PSZ is what happened to the people that didn't get to go to Ragol I think. It could also tie into PS I-IV, or PSU somehow though...

FOODFOOD
Nov 13, 2012, 09:20 AM
There's a few people on here that know a lot about all the plots, and can go in depth pretty far about how it's connected with the others.

But yes, it is a prequel. I'll see if I can dig up an old thread that talks about it.

EDIT: Here you go, he's the last one we talked about.
http://www.pso-world.com/forums/showthread.php?t=193710&highlight=story