PDA

View Full Version : Is it a good idea to main Fighter and sub force?

MegaMettaurX
May 27, 2013, 04:09 AM
I like melee classes and all, but I really don't want to main a melee class then sub a melee class as well.

Zettabyte
May 28, 2013, 02:26 AM
I'm no expert on stat optimization or anything, but I've played my fair share of HuFo, so here's my professional opinion on the matter.

First, realize one thing: if you're planning on keeping pace at endgame, this is probably not the best idea for a main (though it'll make leveling Hunter up to max a hell of a lot more tolerable). You don't really have enough S-Atk or T-Atk to keep pace with HuFis or Fo... whatever Forces subclass these days. Also note that you'll have to either end up essentially wasting skill points into S/T-Atk Up skills or build a very focused mag to be able to equip the high-end items (I'd highly recommend testing your build on the Skill Calculator (http://ryuhiroshi.funpic.de/pso2/skillcalc.php) and comparing it to the high-end equipment's requirements (http://cirnopedia.frostsabre.com/weapon_01.php#10) to make sure you're not going to accidentally gimp yourself late-game).

So, warnings aside, what are the good things about a build like this? You can pack Resta and Anti, and kiss Monomates and Sol Atomizers goodbye (though I personally keep higher-denomination *mates around for safety purposes). If you're incredibly cheap like I am, that's an advantage. It also allows you to support yourself with Shifta and Deband (mostly Shifta), so if you're used to soloing or using Friend Partners, this might be a good thing.

I've also found, at least in my experience, playing HuFo makes me feel more careful. I tend to withdraw faster to make sure I'm always topped off; that might change when I can afford Iron Will, but right now I don't know.