PDA

View Full Version : PSO2 Trap Search and maximum efficiency questions

Excelstra
Jun 30, 2013, 01:24 PM
So let me start this off by saying that I recently started playing PSO 2, but have played the first one aswell as PSU, though barely any BB. Just so you know. :-)

Anyway I would really like to know why this skill is never taken and what the costs are for actually going for it.
From what I understand this game is focused on dealing damage as of now and all other aspects are not as important if nothing major changes. So a focus on support or utility seems to be not as helpful and probably unwanted.

I played a RAcaseal in PSO and so obviously got used to being able to see traps, aswell as being immune to poison.
Now here in PSO 2, I had the fun experience of stepping into poison trap only to walk into another shortly after that and it made me wish I could have seen them. Since I can't read japanese I had no idea if I even had a sol atomizer or anything similar then, so I just had to use some mate and wait for it to be gone. :-(

So are traps not a danger in this game, too rare, easily avoided or just ignored by the use of items, technics, someone who walks into them? If that is not the case I guess the costs for actually taking Trap Search is just too great or the skill is just way too situational.

This leads me to my second question. ^^;

How important is it actually to go with the recommended builds, weapons and other things that relate to efficiency? Also how do people generally react to subpar builds or the use of weapons like twin daggers, knuckles, technics related to ice etc.?
From what I understood the game overall is quite easy, so I can't seem to understand why people are so concerned with what is the "best" and that some weapons etc. shouldn't be used or only in very rare circumstances. :-?