PDA

View Full Version : Drawing Materials

Deathscythealpha
Jan 8, 2004, 04:36 PM
Well, im finding that im starting to draw more now with my University course, and i started to wonder what materials some of the Fan Artists here use. Im mostly concerned with what sort of pencils you lot use, cause i find the pencils i use are way to heavy to draw stuff well. I always end up with thick lines that dont rub out well.

Also, what sort of pens you use for inking images/outlining them in black.

Robert_Wolf
Jan 8, 2004, 04:39 PM
Magic markers and sharpies, dude.

*eyes dance from side to side*

Ok, so maybe I'm not an artist!

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Robert_Wolf on 2004-01-08 13:40 ]</font>

Sord
Jan 8, 2004, 04:42 PM
the sticky tack eraser stuff (leaded eraser i think), it works well for picking up hard pencil marks, got that tip from ladyjaderiver.

Outrider
Jan 8, 2004, 05:47 PM
I'm a miserable excuse for an artist. I refuse to use drawing pencils and will only use mechanical. I also often just use printer paper.

Yeah, I'm terrible.

Nai_Calus
Jan 8, 2004, 05:54 PM
Standard-issue #2 pencil. I use one of the white plastic erasers, mars I think.

My trick for nice, clean linework is to draw your image on one sheet of paper. Get it as messy as you like, it doesn't matter. Spill soda on it for all I care. When it's finalized, trace it to another sheet of paper(Open any program in which you can get a white/mostly white full screen, tape the sheets together, and use your monitor as a makeshift light table. Don't laugh, it works, unless it's a laptop or something). Use light pencil lines, not much pressure. Then seperate the sheets and ink the copy, which will be preternaturally clean. Even better, if your pen messes up while inking and ruins it, you can just trace another inking copy. After the ink dries, lightly erase over the image to get rid of any showing pencil lines, and voila. Super-clean linework. Or it would be, if I wasn't a lousy inker, lol.