PDA

View Full Version : reset bug?

Pneophen
Feb 20, 2001, 10:08 AM
Some that has happen to me is that my DC reset in the middle of an online game. When i tried to load my character it said i couldnt use it. This really pissed me off because i lost 50 hrs of work and would have to start all over again. I've met 2 other people that this has happen to. One lost their character the other just lost all their stuff.

I would like to know what causes this. I dont think my Dc overheated cuz i just started playing again after an hours break from it. I really don't want to run into this again and lose my now Level 60 Character.

Anyone know what causes the reset?

The_Neon_Samurai
Feb 22, 2001, 09:27 AM
It's a relatively common problem, happened to some people I know. It's a problem with the voltage regulation. If this keeps on happening to you, you can open up the DC and use a screwdriver or similar metallic object to manually discharge the voltage thats building up by holding it to the thingie somewhere around where you plug the controller in.

DarkKnight
Feb 22, 2001, 10:36 PM
dude!

happened to me too!
i was kicking butt in the ruins with my teammates and suddenly my dc soft-resetted by itself!:eek:

i lost al my items that i didn't have equipped!
hope this doesn't happen again!

this is much worst then BSOD cause you can't do anything about it!

Cliftonium
Feb 22, 2001, 11:37 PM
Is it really dependant on the DC overheating? I had this happen twice to me now, both times, fighting (specifically) a chaos sorcerer in VH/ruins 3, with a total party of four. I've played the game ~8 hours straight once, and it never happened (this was back when my character was tiny, so I had no access to the ruins), so I don't think it had to do with overheating. Maybe it's the chaos sorcerer's final desperation attack ...