PDA

View Full Version : Artist thing

InfinityXXX
Jul 10, 2004, 02:54 AM
If theres any artist, cartoonist, basically anyone who draws, maybe you can help me out. I make comics in the eastern style and every now and then i'll start focusing on drawing a certain thing for about a week to perfect my skills at drawing this thing. For example, i'll spend a week drawing feet or eyes or i'll spend a week drawing characters in certain poses.

Well anyways, Monday i started drawing hands because out of all the body parts and objects in the world, the hands are the hardest for me to draw. Well for about 4p.m to 10p.m i drew a bunch of hands and they weren't turning out good so i decided to stop drawing them.

The next day i decide to work on my phantasy star online fan comic and i'm messing up all through out the comic. I can't get my panels straight i can't draw my eyes perfect, the heads and hair look awful, just everything is going wrong. I call my freind and tell him I'm having an off day and he tells me to relax for a few days. I stop drawing till today and my art still looks awful. I'm a great artist and the work i've been doing lately looks awful. I heard that in an artist life they go through an off faze but how long is this off faze gonna last?

Orange_kid
Jul 10, 2004, 06:17 AM
hmm, hands are the hardest thing for alot of people to draw. i know i will probably be stoned for this, but anime seems like a fad. everyone looks the same, save hair colour, and most plots are basically the same - something to do with either robots or samuri. although those themes can be cool, they can also be overdone. if you are truly trying to broaden you horizons, which i highly encourage, try doing something that hasen't been seen before, something like abstract or african crossed with pso. sometimes you need to freshen yourself up. go against the grain. you can only grow...

Eanae
Jul 10, 2004, 08:31 AM