PDA

View Full Version : Helpful Tips For Building Better Decks.

Dr_Tokugawa
Jul 31, 2004, 10:16 PM
I thought this would be a good thread to make, as some players of Episode 3 don't seem to like it too much. Quite a few of those people, when asked, say "I'm not good at it". It is very true, as the difference in skill level needed to be good online is much greater here than in Episode 1&2. Therefore, I welcome all posters in this thread to please offer their strategies and any other helpful suggestions. Any other comments are welcome, but please keep it on topic. I also hope that players of any skill level will read this and find some tips for themselves.

The best way I can do this is to take an example of one of my decks from each side and show the construction of it, and then break it down so you can see what it includes.

I'll start with a HS deck.

Kranz - Slicers

Items

2x Flight Cutter
2x Red Slicer
3x Slicer Of Assassin
3x Soul Barrier

Action Cards

3x HP Attack
3x Heavy Attack
2x Attack = 6
1x KO
3x Wall
2x Resist
2x Protection
3x Aegis Guard
1x Counter

Now this is a really simple deck, and it works. Explaining this, I wanted to go with a 4/2/2 setup, meaning using a 4-point item with 2 items worth 2 points. If you keep with a formula like this, it will make a card easy to replace if it gets destroyed. Otherwise, you might find yourself taking hits just to lose an item so you can put something big out. I'd rather just keep things simple. Also, with keeping the cost relatively low, I won't need Assist cards to boost my Dice, such as Dice +1. I don't really need it, so why give my opponent the dice bonus, which he may need?

I decided to take advantage of Kranz's Fixed Range ability, and many of you have probably guessed that, yes, this is a team deck. Here's the synopsis: