PDA

View Full Version : Need Dance Dance Revolution Advice

astuarlen
Mar 7, 2005, 01:17 AM
I just played DDR (Extreme, I think) at a friends house today, and now I totally want to buy it for myself. For anyone out there who has DDR, could you recommend which version (I have PS2 and XBox, so I could use either) to get and also what kind of dance pad to buy (there are so many options! Since I'm a complete DDR noob, I don't want to spend lots of money, but I've also heard that some kinds fall apart too easily and are really slippery). So what do you think I should get? http://pso-world.com/images/phpbb/icons/smiles/icon_wacko.gif

Mixfortune
Mar 7, 2005, 03:03 AM
Well, here's the thing. I don't have the Xbox version, but from what it seems, the Ultramix 2 songlist isn't that bad... but I can't be certain since I haven't seen the whole thing.

So, some quick pros and cons on the PS2 versions... (I wouldn't really recommend any of the PS1 versions... they don't have speed mods):

US versions by the way:

DDR Max
Pros: One of the better songlists of the three, not as many licenses (if you don't care for licensed songs)... and the licensed songs fit more with DDR than the ones from the other versions, DDR Max also features more catchy songs.
Cons: Little to no difficult songs, but that's not a big deal if you're relatively new to it... the more difficult songs are still fun to play, so it's not really a downside unless you're looking for pure difficulty. Less background video variety (if you rather play with background videos off, this isn't an issue).
Overall: Good for starting out and learning the manuevers on... earlier version, generally easier songs, and has options like speed mods that can make it more playable (all the PS2 and Xbox ones have these options, though, but the combination is nice here). If you're getting a US version for the PS2, might want to give this one a go.

DDR Max2: