PDA

View Full Version : Blocking question...

ZodiacNKnight
May 24, 2005, 09:27 PM
I'm an old PSO veteran and I know a lot about the game, perhaps more than I need to know... Anyways, ever since I started playing way back on the DC and played during the GC hack days. I always wondered if blocking was calculated realistically or just through basic numbers...
I'm guessing that blocking is just based on numbers with EVP than rather with EVP and chance/direction.

What I'm trying to say is: Do you have a better chance of blocking when you're facing the monster?
I just have this natural hunch about this... But I doubt it.

Because it would seem more realistic if you got hit in the back that you wouldn't be able to block the attack... And if you got hit in the front you would have a better chance of blocking.
This theory of mine doesn't seem fit because some cases you can block from behind often. Especially when you're on a easier difficulty or have an insane amount of EVP...

I could look this up through data files but I don't want to spend the time nor Patience...
Anyone know for sure...

SuperSpeedy
May 24, 2005, 09:31 PM
I'm not too sure about it... but it does seem like you block less when slapped in the back... unless you're in the 20s fighting stuff in Normal Forest, where it seems like you block everything but Hildebears.

Skorpius
May 24, 2005, 09:37 PM
I had a theory a while ago that no one gave two shits about, but I'll bring it up again.