PDA

View Full Version : gameplay settings adjusting

kazuma56
Dec 28, 2005, 08:00 AM
I don't know alot about PC hardware but I know a little bit about it.

So here's my question, I upgraded my intel onboard graphics accelerator to a PCI (yes PCI, not PCIE) geforce FX 5500 256 mb video memory card, and cant seem to find the medium of getting the game to run perfectly without slowdown.

My current set-up is

Frameskip:0
Advanced effect:on
low res.texture:off
auto frameskip:off

Detail
Shadow:low
Enemy:high
Map:high

Clip distance:near

fog effect:pixel

it occasionaly slows down in ep1, haven't tried ep.2 and in ep4, slows down alot in crowded areas and seems like infinite slowdown at times.

BTW my other computer specs are as follows:
processor: intel Celeron 2.5ghz
Ram:768

HAYABUSA-FMW-
Dec 28, 2005, 09:48 AM
Try it on auto frame skip and turning off the advanced effect.

Does it work okay at the Normal "check box" settings or if not there, the Low end settings?

I'm no expert or anything either though.

I had a problem with an "infinite loop" motherboard and bios configuration after installing two different graphics cards. I didn't want to mess with it anymore after spending nearly a whole day trying to configure it correctly.

I should have looked here for tech help.

BahnKnakyu
Dec 28, 2005, 09:32 PM
Hi Kazuma, I was the one in the game who suggested to lower your clip distance. Sorry about disappearing on ya, my Internet connection died. http://pso-world.com/images/phpbb/icons/smiles/icon_disapprove.gif

I have to warn you that the GeForce 5xxx series are notorious for being rather shoddy in their driver implementation. But if that's what yer money could get ya for the time, then that's what we'll be working around.

As Hayabusa pointed out, try set it on Normal and see if your comp is fine with it, if it's not, then up some of the settings - I would up the fog to whatever the High end setting has for its fog (I think it's pixel).