PDA

View Full Version : PSOBB Survey

SegaTom
Jan 23, 2006, 03:30 PM
Hi! I’m a high school student writing my IB extended essay on social and ethical issues related to Phantasy Star Online Blue Burst. I’m a PSO fan myself; I’ve been playing since December with a character called Tom, and so you might catch me online. My aim is to get a perspective of some issues from the PSO community. Please answer as many of these questions as possible. All replies will be anonymous. If you wish to keep the information private, or don’t want to make an account at PSO world, please email the answers to [email protected]. Please don’t send emails with attachments, they won’t be accepted.

1.If you feel any of the following are an invasion of your privacy, write Yes or No after the sentence (plus an explanation for why if you feel it is needed.)

a. Characters, Items and stats being viewed by Sega when a user is offline or online.
b. Sega reading private messages, team chats, or guild cards when a user is offline or online.
c. PSOBB automatically updating with new content, which you may or may not want.
d. Sega examining players even during single player games.

2. Are you addicted or socially dependant on PSOBB lol? (Socially dependant being that you feel attached to the community.)
3. Are you aware that Sega holds the right to ban players without a reason?
4. Is censoring swear words and possibly other phrases a positive or negative thing for you?
5. Are you aware that Sega only licenses the game to clients, that you never actually own PSOBB? How do you feel about this?
6. Have you experienced any issues with PSOBB staff? What is your reaction to GameGuard blocking antivirus and other third party programs?

I know all of this seems a bit negative, but I want a balanced view of the issues from both the company and users. Thank you for your time.

PS. Please answer as many questions as possible! Not handing in this essay = death.

space_butler
Jan 23, 2006, 04:01 PM