Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I do, however, like to draw stuff from time to time.

I just want to point out though, that I have not picked up a pencil to seriously draw anything in something like four years. Until today.

I'm posting this as something of a demonstration. I am not an artist. I am an author. Art is not something that I study regularly to get better at, but yet, by sitting down, focusing, and just downright applying myself, I can still produce what you see there in about a half an hour to forty-five minutes, from when I take the pencil to the paper to when I pull it away, again.

I've spent the last two weeks or so building the image in my head; looking at references, studying the shapes of faces and hair, getting a mental concept of what this face should be shaped like, not just on the page, but truely, in three dimensions.

The point of is this:

If I can do this, then any aspiring artist on this site can do the same. There is no such thing as, "it's too hard," or "it's too much work." It is simply a matter of taking the time to just sit down and do it.

Artwork is no different than writing in one very important respect: it is of dire consequence that you know precisely where you're going before you start. If you go into just about any creative project uninspired and with no vision of the project's future, then what you're going to end up with will be likewise, uninspired.

I have plans to do more with this picture, and I'll try to keep this thread updated with its progress. In the mean time, I'd like to see some of our less experienced artists strive to improve themselves, and show us what they can really do when they kick it up a notch.