Smile Stat comparison - DEX > DFP?

I have a level 86 FOnewm, and I've basically invested most materials and mag points to MST. I am starting a HUnewearl however, and I have no experience as to how much high DEX on a mag would really help on ultimate mode. Would the ratio of my character hitting the enemy plus avoiding attacks end up in me surviving longer than if I left my ATA and DEX alone and raised just the DFP so I could take attacks better?
    Thank you!

Most people go with DEX over DEF for most situations (only exceptions I can think of are caster rare mags where they may go 50/0/0/150, or some people make 200 DEF mags for fun). This is because of the difficulty of raising the attributes. DFP has Mats, unlike ATA; DEF also only adds 1 point of DFP where MIND and POW add 2 for their respective stats.

Most people leave DEX around the 40-70 range, DEF at 5 (minimum it starts with), everything else in POW assuming the mag is not meant as a max stat mag.

After re-reading the OP's post more carefully I decided to rewrite my post, as it seemed unnecesarry for the most part. ATA vs DFP:

ATA allows you to his more frequently. Useful.

DFP reduces damage by one point for every five points raised. This means by increasing DFP by 100 points you're only shaving of 10 points of damage.

I would advise using a build in this manner: ATA/ATP/MST raised by MAG, materials and units.

DFP raised by Armor/Shields, which also comes with an EVP boost, as well as materials should you want to include DFP into your chacters build.