Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Post PSO2 Questions / Release Date Speculation

So, after seeing the game's quality on the newest video (this is alpha!? This has more content and polish than FFXIV current state already!), and the announcement of alpha testing on August, when do you guys think the game will be released or at least get into open beta phase? I'm asking because I'm no expert and don't have any data on the average length it takes for alpha testing for MMORPGs.

Also, we all know that this is "Windows PC" only at least so far. But if you try to look at it from SEGA's point of view as a video game business company, when do you think might be the realistic date for them to announce a console release?

And finally, with Infinity not coming to western shores (wasn't it confirmed that it won't?), do you think Sega of America in their current business practices will bring PSO2 to English speakers? Why or why not?

Oh and yeah - if servers are split, I'll take the Japanese version :3
    PSO2 JP
    Sega ID: Elternteil
    アリサ・ランディール
    (Alis Landale)
    Female HUmar
    Ship 2

Who knows what will happen.

1. The length of alpha tests is usually of about 2-3 months. Then, there's beta test which lasts another 2 months.

But it can go for longer depending on the bugs/issues playtesters find. Alpha tests are also made to find/check out the gameplay balance and they might have that much work to do on that.

2. To me, it looks impossible for Sega to release the game on consoles unless the game has an incredible success on PC (unlikely).

3. Sadly (it's my personnal point of view), Sega will probably not release the game in the Western World. PSU has encovered a number of issues that Sega doesn't look ready to face (again). I can only hope I'm wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Arada View Post
    1. The length of alpha tests is usually of about 2-3 months. Then, there's beta test which lasts another 2 months.