Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Play for fun, but don't want to be a burden.

I am total newbie to this Phantasy Online thingy, tried out playing PS02 SEA version last week, and really like the gameplay, features and customizations. So I started planning out my character's build, by readings a lot of great guides on this forum.

I tried all 3 base classes to lv10, and find it really hard to pick one...I really wish to level and play all of them. Each of them has its own attraction and I find it fun trying different playstyles.
    - I really like playing hunter, constantly switching between halberd, sword and wired-lance fighting different enemies, that's so cool!
    - I like hunter which can shoot while moving/dodging, even has chargable PA that can crouch on ground shooting! Like the lock-on mode too.
    - Forcer is like futuristic magi, combines magic with technology; I like how spells will behave differently when charged vs non-charged and blinking out of danger when fighting out big bosses.

But I am now in a dilemma:
    I read a lot of posts in this forum, and through the guides, I understand that:
    1) Best, specialized in one playstyle/stat (like go full T-ATK or full S-ATK, best is never half-ass'ed).
    2) Best, go for pure stat mags.
    3) Specialized is always better than hybrid.
    4) The game although allows hybrid classes, but doesn't seems to make them optimal?/viable?

But...I really can't pick one...I am truly considering playing all with one character.

So here I am, asking you veterans:

I started out as Newman Female.
    Since I am playing all classes, I plan to make my mag balanced in all 4 stats: S-ATK, R-ATK, T-ATK & DEX.
    How gimped I will be if I go with this plan?

I am really not the min-max'ing type of player, I just want to have fun BUT, I do not want to be a burden/deadweight to whatever team/group either.