Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Default Beginner's Guide to PSO2: Class? Weapon? Damage? Support? Answers and more within.

Disclaimer: I have all classes at max level on multiple characters, all with powerful equipment.
    I also have experience leading groups and maining full damage and support classes on other well-known MMOs.
    However, I'm definitely not the best player out there, so this info is not 100% perfect, accurate or correct.
    Be warned that it's mostly my own experiences and opinions.

This was originally posted in reply to a post in the General Discussion section.
    Note that it may be a little strange in structure because of this.

This guide is to help answer questions on which class/weapon/playstyle to play as.
    It doesn't really go into depth on how to achieve viable setups.

This info is relevant as of PSO2 Episode 3.

Q. I'm new to PSO2 and I've no idea what class to play as.

PSO2 is different from typical MMOs in many ways. It's more of an action game than an RPG.

Classes are significant in that there are skills (talents) tied to them, as well as class weapon restrictions.
    In PSO2, you can freely change class (they each have their own EXP), and there are various ways to equip any weapon on any class.
    Some weapons also have multiple damage stats on them, which increases the possibilities of mixing and matching.

You can also have a sub-class, which adds a portion of sub-class stats as well as all of the sub-class's skills.
    Sub-class is usually used to support and improve your main class's abilities, usually by increasing damage done.
    Note that you must have the main or sub class of a weapon to be able to use its special attacks. To use Techs, you must have the main or sub class of Force, Techer or Bouncer.

However, note that if you don't pay real money, you can only have one skill tree per class.