Disclaimers:
    1. I'm not a computer expert.
    2. Disabling Norton and other forms of internet security may make your computer more vulnerable to intrusions, worms, viruses, haxing, and lots of other annoying problems you don't want your computer to have.

I got a new computer for the holidays, hoping it would run PSU better than my old notebook. After a little tweeking of the game settings the new computer ran PSU wonderfully. Then a few days later, I started noticing massive slowdowns. I went through the usual troubleshooting list: restarted, checked for viruses and spyware, etc, etc etc. None of that helped.

Then I tried running PSU with windows task manager open to see what processes took up the most system resources. When I ran PSU BEFORE the problems began, I observed that my CPU usage averaged around 15-25%, with occasional spikes no more than 50%. After I started getting slowdown, my CPU usage was nearly always above 70%, and sometimes up to 100. The process eating most of my CPU was ccProxy.exe. According to search results from google, this program is part of Norton Internet Security, specifically dealing with parental controls. Unfortunately, disabling parental controls did not prevent this process from running.

I know multiple people whose Norton seems to crash when they load PSU. I have not had this occur on my computer, but it's pretty obvious that PSU (Gameguard?) does not get along with Norton Antivirus.

I advise that other people who are experiencing unexplainable slowdowns and use Norton Antivirus to look into this issue.

And if anyone can recomend a good security program that DOES get along with PSU, it would be greatly appreciated.

A few more observations:

- When disabling Norton Internet Security, ccProxy.exe continued to run, but did not consume massive amounts of system resources while playing PSU.