Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: PSO2 vs Aion

Default PSO2 vs Aion

So I've been playing PSO2 for a couple of months now, and in fact PSO2 is my first MMO. Not having anything to compare it against I was so blown away by everything in this game. I've got a good 50 or so hours into the game by now, and I'm up to Level 19. I'm at the point now where I'm starting to feel it's a bit of a "grindfest" and that client orders like "defeat X quest 5 times" are starting to get tiring, especially when you have trouble putting together a party for the needed quest.

Granted there's still a lot I haven't done yet on PSO2, I haven't experienced a team yet, or subclassing. I'm imagining things get better but right now I'm tired of doing the same damn quests over and over again.

I figured, well why not try another MMO to see how PSO2 compares? I did a bit of research and decided to try Aion. It's also free, and therefore low risk. What strikes me is how completely different it is to PSO2. The world is absolutely HUGE (which may end up having it's negatives), and overall the game seems way more complex (also may end up being a drawback). The battle system seems slower and more automated.

The graphics are very nice however and I find that the characters in Aion are drawn more realistically, particularly the way they move.

I'm not sold on it actually, and I don't really know what to do. I'm not going to play both, I don't have time for that. I just don't have enough experience with these games to know what I'm looking at. I've already put so much time into PSO2 that I want to keep playing with the hopes that it stops being so repetitive. THere's definitely things that PSO2 has that mean a lot to me:

-Anime aesthetics (bishonens and bishojos everywhere)

-In Japanese (I've studied Japanese for 4 years and this is a fun/challenging way to practice and converse with Japanese players)