Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

For artists. What is your opinion on original chracters?

I don't have any original characters. I don't think it suits my personality; and to be honest, it gets irritating seeing "hey guys this is my character ^_^" because really, a lot of the time they are terribly designed, uninteresting, and so on.

Then there is the aspect of attaching a backstory to a character...which I can not relate to, because I am an artist, not a writer. I draw pictures for them to look pretty. I understand this isn't how everyone does it.

Something just seems totally obnoxious about the whole idea.

Does it depend on the artist?
    The character?

I am interested in your opinions.

Well, I myself have had several "original characters" and none of them stayed with me for very long. The only one I would consider "original", which isnt very, is my old PSO character that has been my alias for the past 4 years. :| More of a mascot than a original character though I guess.

I attach stories to most of my works. But not so much to characters.

Customary AWESOME Title Solstis's Avatar

It's a bit hard to write stories without your own characters (though you can). For my stories, though, I just generally have names that I like and I stick some personalities to them. If I ever get anything published, though, I'll probably have to set firm backstories. Darn... it really is refreshing to feel as if you're starting with something new every time you type/write.

Elaborate backstories in fanfics can be really annoying, especially if the story is just an excuse to talk about someone's character. I think that I started out that way.

It really depends, I guess.

Definitely depends on the character and the artist. I've seen "original characters" that were just random anime cookie cuts, and those ones are the kind that annoy me the most... of course, that's just my personal preference. I'm not a big fan of anime style art in general, though much of it is amazingly well-done.